Officers and Trustees

Thomas Sheppard latestThomas Sheppard became Chairman of the Trust in February 2016.

Thomas Sheppard

Chairman of the Trust

Thomas Sheppard has over 40 years’ experience as a lawyer including being Managing Partner of Thrings LLP for ten years – until 2013. His primary expertise is as a Commercial Property lawyer. He is Chair of the Council of the University of Bath and also held the positions of Chair and Trustee of Dorothy House (Hospice Care) and RICE (Research Institute for the Care of the Elderly), Non-Executive Director at the Royal United Hospital, Chairman of the Finance Committee of Bath Festivals Trust and Vice Chair and Trustee of Bristol Arnolfini as well as many smaller charities and organisations. He first became a Trustee of Bath Preservation Trust in 2002 and during that period served as Chair of the Architecture Committee for a number of years. He retired as a Trustee in 2012 but was re-elected in June 2014.  Media Release 1 February 2016

caroline - may 2015

Caroline Kay

Chief Executive of Bath Preservation Trust
In attendance at Finance and General Purposes, Architecture and Planning, and the Museums and Education committee meetings

Before joining BPT as CEO in 2007, Caroline’s career has been largely within the public or non-profit sector, latterly working with cultural organisations particularly on the development of business plans, fundraising and capital projects. She started her career as a Clerk in the House of Lords, was Deputy Director of Arts and Business, and spent 12 years as a senior arts consultant including as an expert advisor assessing lottery applications for the Heritage Lottery Fund. She has an MA from Oxford University in Psychology and Physiology and an MSc from Bristol University in Organisational Psychology. She is currently also a member of the South West Regional Advisory Board of the National Trust and previous non-executive roles have included Chair of the Wiltshire Music Centre, Board Member of English Touring Theatre, Aldeburgh Productions and Winchester College, and a non-executive member of the Avon, Gloucester and Wiltshire Strategic Health Authority

The Trustees as at February 2016 are:

Thomas Sheppard (Chairman of the Trust)

See short biography above

Diane Aderyn OBE

Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

Diane is Director of Finance and Commercial Services at the University of Bath and before that was Deputy Bursar at the University of Manchester.

Currently represents the University of Bath as Trustee of the Herschel House Trust and longstanding treasurer of South Wraxall P.C.C. Formerly Trustee of Bath Festivals and the College of Radiographers.

Dr Kristin Doern

Member of the Museums and Education Committee

Kristin is the Heritage Subject Leader at Bath Spa University and teaches Arts Management, Heritage Studies and modern British history. Her particular areas of expertise are: learning, education and community engagement in heritage, culture and the arts; the City of Bath World Heritage Site, heritage and public history; the history of feminism and women’s activism, changing social structures in relation to religion and social reform movements, and the rise of consumer society in Britain since the middle of the eighteenth century.

Professor Barry Gilbertson

Member of the Architecture and Planning Committee and Chairman of the Historic Vaults Group

Barry serves as an independent, non-executive director on three public company boards, and on The Council (and Court) of The University of Bath. Barry is a Past President of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, holds Appointments as Visiting Professor at two UK universities, was a partner at pwc for fifteen years, an advisor to the Bank of England for eleven years and has been a member of The Georgian Society for more than thirty years. Barry specialises in strategic solutions for real estate within a business context, advising clients where real estate is material to their business strategy.

Robert Hellard

Chair of the Environs Sub-Committee
Member of the Architecture and Planning Committee

A Civil Engineer with 13 years in the construction industry before setting up his own business, Mendip Fireplaces (Bath), in 1980. Robert is Vice-Chairman of South Stoke Parish Council

Tom Marshall

Chair of the Architecture and Planning Committee

Tom is a retired Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and a commercial property consultant  specialising in development and real estate, and has held a number of senior roles in this sector.

Celia Mead

Member of the Museums and Education Committee

Celia specialises in strategic management, marketing and communications, running her own consultancy from Bath. Most of her clients are in the field of heritage tourism. She has over 20 years’ experience in membership-based charities (15 with the National Trust). Celia is a member of the Museums Association and the Institute of Leadership and Management. She is also on the board of Bath Festivals and the Council of Wells Cathedral

Simon Morray-Jones

Member of the Architecture and Planning Committee

Simon Morray-Jones Architects in Bath specialise in restoring and upgrading historic properties whilst adapting them to suit modern living in the twenty-first century.

Bill Otley

Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

A Chartered Accountant, Bill has been Finance Director, Chairman and Managing Director of many companies, housing associations and charities.

Alison Streatfeild-James

Alison gained an MA Jurisprudence in 1985 from St Catherine’s College, Oxford. Called to the bar 1987, she is a Barrister and Mediator at 4 Pump Court, London, practicing in Civil and Commercial law. Alison has served as a Trustee and Director of the Campaign to protect Rural England (CPRE) and as a local Parish Councillor in Bristol. She has been a Governor of Clifton College since 2006 and college Council Member since 2007.

Adrian Tinniswood

Chair of the Museums and Education Committee

Adrian has written 12 books on architecture and social history and is a well-known author, lecturer and broadcaster in both Britain and the USA. He was a member of the Heritage Lottery Fund’s Committee for the South West 2001 – 2010, as Chair from 2004. Adrian is an elected member of the National Trust Council.

Mark Wilson Jones

Member of the Architecture and Planning Committee

Mark is an architect and architectural historian who works on the classical tradition going back to ancient Greece and Rome. He studied in Cambridge and London and was a Rome Scholar.  He has combined research with teaching in London, Rome and several American universities, and is Director of Postgraduate Research at the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering, University of Bath.

Designed by Ice House Design